top of page


Leif Ove Andsnes (c) Gregor

Photo: Oezguer Albayrak


Andsnes plays Mozart

Saturday 20 March 7pm

University Aula


Terje Tønnesen artistic leader

Leif Ove Andsnes piano


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Piano Concerto No. 23 in A major, K. 488

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

Serenade for Strings in C major, Op. 48

Our close collaborator and the celebrated pianist Leif Ove Andsnes joins us in the midst of his current project, a four-year immersion in Mozart's music. Written in 1786 during a period of almost feverish activity, Piano Concerto No. 23 remains one of Mozart's most deservedly popular works, not least because of its exuberant character and abundance of themes.

Tchaikovsky's graceful Serenade for Strings is considered as one of the late Romantic era's definitive compositions. "The serenade is a piece from the heart and so, I venture to say, it does not lack artistic worth," confided Tchaikovsky to one of his patrons. It is nonetheless full of unmistakable Tchaikovskian melancholy, and many of the rhetorical devices and the techniques whereby they are achieved are familiar from Tchaikovsky's symphonies.

bottom of page