Foto: Bård Gundersen

Prokofiev and Beethoven

Tue 10 November 7pm

University Aula

This concert is included in the following subscription series:

Aula series

Aula Gold series

Total series

Lorenza Borrani artistic leader / violin




Sergei Prokofiev

Violin Sonata No. 1, arr. for solo violin and strings

Ludwig van Beethoven

String Quartet No. 14, Op. 131, arr. for string orchestra


For our last concert with this year's guest artistic director Lorenza Borrani, we have chosen two gigantic chamber works in their transcribed versions for string orchestra.  

Written in 1826, the year before Beethoven's death, the String Quartet Op. 131 is one of his most revelatory late string quartets. It was also the composer's favourite one - the work that leaves behind everything which came before, including Beethoven's earlier works, and moves into a new dimension. 

It is however Prokofiev's Violin Sonata that opens the evening with Lorenza Borrani as soloist. Considered one of the darkest, most haunting and yet ferocious music Prokofiev ever wrote, the Sonata was conceived during the time when Stalin's Great Terror was in full swing. It is most probably the bitter experience from the time that made this work one of his most powerfully concentrated compositions. In this transcription for solo violin and string orchestra, the sonata's original piano part provides a compelling 

context for the grand orchestration. 

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle